Do you like working at home?

Before I came to America, my company BASF just shifted the Shanghai office headquarter from center of downtown to a bigger industrial area. There are two new HR policies launched at that time. One is that you can submit the application to your supervisor for working in flexible time, as long as you can keep 37 working hours one week; another policy is that you can submit the application to your supervisor that you would like to work home-based as long as your supervisor approval your submit.

With the development of high technology, I feel home based work will become one main trend step by step, especially for marketing, sales and high technology employees. Though it’s very easy to let people think of the disadvantage of home-based work, that is lack of communication and inconvenience. But I think for some kind of work, the advantage will be more than the harm.

To company, the biggest advantage is saving cost. More and more employees, limited resource and space everywhere especially when one company is under expanding process. Like marketing and sales employees, their main work is travelling to visit customers, therefore the utilization of their office is not high. Why not let them work at home? Then company could utilize this office area to set up more meeting rooms and launge rooms. If sales would like to come to office today, they can work at launge room, just like the library in the university. They can have meetings in company’s meeting room or just use online meeting system, such as same-time.

To employee, the biggest advantage is that you have more freedom. Of course, this requires higher work ethics and responsibilities. You can plan to work at your favorite time, just make sure that you finish all the things you should do in time. You can wear comfortably, listen to the music and no need to cost at least one or two hours on traffic everday. Especially for some designing, marketing employees who use brain to work. I think more freedom will lead to more creative performance as long as this is employee’s preference.

Talking about communication, yes, it’s definitely very important. But Nowadays, the communication way in the world has already changed a lot. You also can have face to face communication by social media platform or telephone. Just make an appointment first.

What’s your opinion regarding working at home?

Untitled

 

About Lihexin

My name is Hexin Li – welcome to my page! I’m a traditional Chinese girl. In my free time, I like dance, reading fiction, travelling, puzzling & cross knit. I’m very proud of my performance of puzzling & cross knitting which I would like to show you in the photo post area of face book. Now I work in the biggest global chemical company – BASF and I have already been one BASF employee more than eight years, four and half years for technical service, the rest years for R&D. I love my work, my company very much. Therefore, I plunge into my work with immense zeal. Meanwhile, I am study MBA in Shanghai Fudan University now in order to improve myself further to face the challenge in the future. The department I worked in is called dispersion and pigment which could be applied in many different industries, ex. Decorative Coating, Construction, Adhesive, wood coating,3C coating and so on. So if one day when you would like to decorate your house, any question regarding coating and others, please feel free to contact me. If you find something on my site that resonates with you and you want to learn more about how I might be able to help with what you are doing, please don’t hesitate to contact me. Thanks once again for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

