Marriage Issue

When I was a child, in my impression, the people in east countries, like China, will be more traditional. While in west countries, like U.S. will be more open. When the people deal with different issues, including marriage, they will have totally different attitudes.

Before I came to U.S., I have seen one U.S. TV series: Desperate Housewife. I like the TV series very much, because it let me know further about the U.S. citizen’s daily life and people’s value. Then I found that human beings in different countries will have similar value and attitude in terms of some issues. In my eyes, U.S. peoples’ value of marriage is a little bit traditional compared with some other west countries which is out of my expectation. For example, U. S. people treat marriage holy, they prefer enjoying marriage life than freedom single life.

As I know, in some Europe countries, like Germany, the marriage rate is very low. One man and one woman live together for several years as partner, but they don’t want to get married. Even when the woman has the child, the guy will be responsible for fostering the child, but he still will not get married with the child’s mother. This is a prevalent way in Germany. They will not feel the pressure from their relatives, their friends and the society.

Recently, I have the discussion with some U.S. friends. They told me that in west coasts of U. S., like Reno, young people will get married at very early age, like 25 or 26 years old. If one lady will not get married until 30 years old, she will feel the pressure from the society. This is really out of my expectation, because of  similar situation in China, just in some big cities, like Shanghai, the average marriage age will be a little bit late, like 28 years old, but if you don’t get married and don’t have the child, you will still feel the pressure from the society.

In my eyes, human beings in different countries actually have common values on a lot of things, but the culture will have big difference.

If you have the interest in this topic, please leave a message. Thanks!

rings

About Lihexin

My name is Hexin Li – welcome to my page! I’m a traditional Chinese girl. In my free time, I like dance, reading fiction, travelling, puzzling & cross knit. I’m very proud of my performance of puzzling & cross knitting which I would like to show you in the photo post area of face book. Now I work in the biggest global chemical company – BASF and I have already been one BASF employee more than eight years, four and half years for technical service, the rest years for R&D. I love my work, my company very much. Therefore, I plunge into my work with immense zeal. Meanwhile, I am study MBA in Shanghai Fudan University now in order to improve myself further to face the challenge in the future. The department I worked in is called dispersion and pigment which could be applied in many different industries, ex. Decorative Coating, Construction, Adhesive, wood coating,3C coating and so on. So if one day when you would like to decorate your house, any question regarding coating and others, please feel free to contact me. If you find something on my site that resonates with you and you want to learn more about how I might be able to help with what you are doing, please don’t hesitate to contact me. Thanks once again for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

